Distinguished Sites

The Vineyards

Since its foundation in 2002, Tapanappa has expanded its vineyards beyond the Piccadilly Valley as Brian adhered to the core philosophy that continues to drive his winemaking practice, defined by the concept of Distinguished Sites.

The “distinguished site” concept has now been applied to two more South Australia regions adding to the repertoire of  terroir-defined wines of Tapanappa’s highly respected, fine-wine portfolio.

Those three Distinguished Sites are:

The original Tiers Vineyard planted with Chardonnay in the Piccadilly Valley in 1979

Foggy Hill Vineyard planted with Pinot Noir at Parawa on the Fleurieu Peninsula in 2003

Whalebone Vineyard planted with Cabernet and associated varieties in Wrattonbully in 1974

The Croser family has invested significantly in refining the viticulture of these three distinguished vineyard sites.

The old vines at the Tiers and Whalebone vineyards have been restructured and re-trellised. New vineyards have been planted with superior clones on rootstocks at very close spacing, inspired by the traditional European formula 1.5 metres by 1.5 metres with the vines only 0.5 metres above the soil surface.

As they did with the Piccadilly Valley in 1979, the Croser family has pioneered a new wine region at Parawa on the Fleurieu Peninsula by planting Dijon clones of Pinot Noir on rootstocks at the close-spaced Foggy Hill Vineyard.

At each of these vineyards, Brian and his team have keenly identified the components of terroir and nurtured their influence in the grape growing and winemaking process to bring to the bottle the finest expression of each site.

Cellar Door opens daily, 11am – 4pm


PHONE (08)7324 5301


Keep in touch with Tapanappa wines

Sign up and be the first to receive information on our newest releases, unique events and much more!
You may unsubscribe from our mailing list at any time via our website, or via the unsubscribe link included in every email.

Liquor Licensing Act 1997
It is an offense to sell or to supply to or to obtain liquor on behalf of a person under the age of 18 years.
Liquor license No. 57008504
Wines are sold by Tapanappa Wines Pty. Ltd. ABN 86 104 001 667




Don't miss out on the next vintage of Tapanappa Chardonnays again!

Sign up for Tappening Newsletter and be the first to receive information on our newest releases, upcoming events and much more.