CELLAR DOOR

Cellar Door open 7 days a week, 11am - 4pm. Bookings strongly recommended. Give us a call (08) 7324 5301 or email cellardoor@tapanappa.com.au

Foggy Hill Vineyard Latest Reviews

Wine Masterclass - Tapanappa vs the superstars

Author: 
Andrew Graham
Source: 
Australian Wine Review
Review Date: 
July 18, 2010

I've banged on before about the quality of the Tapanappa range, particularly the Tiers Chardonnay, and I recently had the opportunity to put this quality to the test, with Brian Croser putting on a masterclass that pitted the Tapanappa wines against some established French and Australian benchmarks.

Typically, the benchmarks chosen were all very high quality, but also purposefully picked to highlight the positive aspects of the Tapanappa range (Croser at his craftiest). Regardless, the Tapanappa range acquitted themselves well, especially the soon to be released 2009 Foggy Hill Vineyard Pinot.

Tapanappa, Foggy Hill Vineyard Pinot Noir 2008 - 93/100

Author: 
Tom Cannavan
Source: 
www.wine-pages.com
Review Date: 
March 2010

This is only the second vintage of the Tapanappa Pinot Noir. It has an immediate charm and delicacy, with soft, curranty and gently smoky aromas leading onto a palate that somehow manages both intense fruit sweetness and elegant freshness. There's a dry, savoury, really quite Burgundian undertow to this. It is low-cropped from the Foggy Hill vineyard (densely planted with Burgundian clones) and aged in French oak only 30% of which is new. It has lovely persistance in the mouth, its elegant, quiet layers unfolding slowly into the finish. Subtle and superb stuff. 93/100.

Tapanappa Foggy Hill Vineyard Pinot Noir 2008 - 5 stars

Author: 
Ralph Kyte-Powell
Source: 
The Age - Epicure
Review Date: 
16th of March 2010

From the highest, coolest vineyard on South Australia's Fleurieu Peninsula, this pinot is a product of a high-powered Australian-French collaboration. Fragrant and delicate floral and undergrowth aromas give lift to sour cherry fruit and malty richness. It has a silky texture, complex flavour and an aromatic finish. Very stylish

Tapanappa 2008 Foggy Hill Vineyard Pinot Noir - 93/100

Author: 
Tom Cannavan
Source: 
wine-pages.com
Review Date: 
January 2010

Regular readers will know I'm a big fan of Brian Croser's Tapannapa, a decidedly terroir-driven project started by the ex-Petaluma winemaker in association with two French partners. This is only the second vintage of the Tapanappa Pinot Noir, sourced from the Fleurieu Peninsula, a few kilometres from the ocean near McLaren Vale. It has an immediate charm and delicacy, with soft, curranty and gently smoky aromas leading onto a palate that somehow manages both intense fruit sweetness and elegant freshness. There's a dry, savoury, really quite Burgundian undertow to this. It is low-cropped from the Foggy Hill vineyard (densely planted with Burgundian clones) and aged in French oak only 30% of which is new. It has lovely persistance in the mouth, its elegant, quiet layers unfolding slowly into the finish. Subtle and superb stuff. 93/100

Tapanappa Foggy Hill Pinot Noir - 91 Points

Author: 
Chris Plummer
Source: 
Australian Wine Journal
Review Date: 
5th of February 2010

There's an awful lot to be said for wine legend Brian Croser's Tapanappa Foggy Hill Vineyard Pinot Noir. Meticulous site selection, superlative vineyard management and carefully judged winemaking have created an utterly unique expression of Australian pinot noir, which sits right at the cutting edge of South Australian interpretations of the style. One day the Foggy Hill vineyard may be to South Australian pinot noir what the Croser family's Tiers Vineyard is to South Australian chardonnay.

Tapanappa Foggy Hill Pinot Noir 2008 - 94 Points

Author: 
Chris Plummer
Source: 
Australian Wine Journal
Review Date: 
4th of February 2010

It presents a very youthful expression of bright red cherry notes with savoury accents and definitive spice, fresh cedar/vanilla oak also plays a part. The palate announces itself with a beautifully silken, sensuous texture, the likes of which I've almost never encountered in South Aussie pinot before. It has exceptional depth of flavour for its young vine age, with its youthful deliciousness finishing fine, long, tight and well structured, with fine tannins and a lingering spice. It might not be the best pinot noir ever, but the potential of this vineyard now has me extremely excited (so excited I rushed to the Ed on the way home to grab a bottle, which I'll review later tonight with Casey - full review published tomorrow). 94

Tapanappa, Foggy Hill Pinot Noir 2008 Fleurieu Peninsula

Author: 
Jancis Robinson
Source: 
JancisRobinson.com
Review Date: 
19th of January 2010

Last week my bloodstream was replaced by a stream of 2008 burgundy in my veins. (We are just about to publish more than 1,350 tasting notes on this intriguing vintage, the result of intensive tasting during a week in Burgundy in November and the last two weeks in London.)

I tried to have minimal commitments in the evenings between the 27 burgundy tastings that took place around London - although Alan Bennett's play The Habit of Art at the National Theatre proved a fine distraction on Thursday and last Monday evening, relatively unusually, I played the part of 'my companion? as Nick reviewed a restaurant.

On Tuesday and Wednesday evenings last week, however, we had a quiet, restorative supper at home and, believe it or not, I felt like a glass of wine. For interest's sake I opened a bottle of a quite different 2008 Pinot Noir. To my surprise, Tapanappa, Foggy Hill Vineyard Pinot Noir 2008 Fleurieu Peninsula from a brand new southern extremity of South Australia proved a delicious punctuation to a fortnight of tasting burgundy and more than held its own. It had both fruit and freshness but is far from simple. In fact I compared it with a famous Kiwi Pinot from my cellar, Dry River Pinot Noir 2001 Martinborough, and found it very much more elegant, refreshing and nuanced. (This is not meant as a trans-Tasman generalisation, by the way.)

Clones are Burgundian. Yield was just 5 tonnes/ha and only 600 dozen bottles were made. About a third new French barriques and no filtration. 14% alcohol.

Comparing this Pinot Noir with Pinots from some of Australia's other Pinot regions, I'd say it is somewhere in weight between the delicacy of typical offerings from Mornington Peninsula and some of the rather richer bottlings from, say, Gippsland.

This is the second vintage from Foggy Hill vineyard, the chilly slope* (pictured above looking anything but foggy) in the middle of his new toy, a sheep farm, that has been planted by Brian Croser, ex Petaluma. The 2008 is tasting beautifully now. In fact the remains of the bottle were still delightful Sunday last night as an aperitif before viewing the new George Clooney film Up in the Air that I found less exciting than most reviews suggest. (Yes, this is the arts section of this website.)

I see that for the moment the wine seems available retail only on the Tapanappa website and in Australia for around Aus$47 (approx £25) a bottle, but I understand it is on the water en route to the UK and look forward very much to seeing it better distributed. I am told that in the UK it will be available from Fine & Rare, Edencroft Fine Wine and the Fine Wine Company. Look out for it.

Grape Expectations

Author: 
Ken Gargett
Source: 
Men's Health
Review Date: 
Januray 2010

Bringing a decent bottle of wine can help tame a prospective father-in-law while quietly creating an impression of worldly sophistication. If you're opting for a red MH wine expert Ken Gargett, a wine judge and the author of Don't Buy Wine Without Me, recommends Tapanappa's Foggy Hill Pinot Noir 2008. "It offers an array of flavours, and finishes with intensity and complexity," he says.

Pages