CELLAR DOOR

Cellar Door open 7 days a week, 11am - 4pm. Bookings strongly recommended. Give us a call (08) 7324 5301 or email cellardoor@tapanappa.com.au

Foggy Hill Vineyard Latest Reviews

Winsor's Choice - Tapanappa 2010 Fleurieu Peninsula Pinot Noir

Author: 
Winsor Dobbin
Source: 
www.winsordobbin.com.au
Review Date: 
23rd of April 2011

What a tempting wine this is. OK, it's very youthful - and comes from young vines, too - planted by veteran winemaker Brian Croser at Parawa; a cool, foggy site on the Fleurieu Peninsula, in 2006. The proof is in the pudding, however, and Croser has been proved correct in identifying this as a special site. It's probably a bigger wine than hoped for - the result of a warm vintage - with plenty of appealing sweet fruit, but there's also impressive tannin structure and some silky elegance on the palate to keep the bold fruit in check. Great news for consumers, too, is that the wine is under screwcap; as is the Tapanappa 2010 Piccadilly Valley Chardonnay. Only 500 cases were made, so it may pay to be quick off the mark.

2009 Foggy Hill Pinot Noir - 93 Points

Author: 
Tyson Stelzer
Source: 
WBM Magazine
Review Date: 
February 2011

Young vine Pinot rarely flatters, but these six-year-old vines are finding their place. The cooler 2009 season provided tart acidity which underlines lifted rose petal perfume and precise red cherry palate.

It's honed, fresh and expressive.

93 Points

Review of the Tapanappa Wines range

Author: 
Alontin
Source: 
http://australianwinereviews.blogspot.com/
Review Date: 
24th/25th of February 2011

I have a small number of Tapanappa wines in my cellar, but never tasted the full range until last night. I cannot think of another small Australian winery which produces four different wines at such an outstanding level. I much prefer these wines to Brian Croser's old Petaluma range. Every wine I tried I would rate in the 95/96 point range.

The 2008 Tiers Vineyard Chardonnay is brilliant. Made in the style of a leading Montrachet, it undergoes 100% malolactic fermentation. Despite this, there is enough acidity to balance the ripe lemon and creamy flavours. The wine is matured in 50% new oak, and it shows, but it is not overwhelming. Not many Chardonnay vines in Australia benefit from the full French treatment, but this wine is outstanding and justifies its hefty price tag.

Top drops - Peter Forrestal rates three of the best for STM

Author: 
Peter Forrestal
Source: 
Sunday Times
Review Date: 
13th of February 2011

2008 Tapanappa Tiers Chardonnay

Brian Croser lives alongside the superb Tiers vineyard in the Adelaide Hills and coaxes one of the country’s finest chardonnays from its 30-year-old vines. This has restraint and fruit purity, wonderful texture and bright, refreshing acidity.

2009 Tapanappa Foggy Hill Pinot Noir

From a mild, dry growing season in Southern Fleurieu Peninsula in SA comes this brooding, age-worthy pinot that is tight, fine and showing power, restrained dark-cherry and raspberry-pith flavours.

2006 Tapanappa Whalebone Cabernet Shiraz

Pinots you should get to know

Author: 
Huon Hooke
Source: 
Sydney Morning Herald
Review Date: 
8th of February 2011

From Huon Hooke's article on the recent Mornington Peninsula Pinot Noir Celebration.

Some of my personal favourites at the pinot celebration: Tapanappa Foggy hill 2008; Dexter 2008; Paringa Estate Single Vineyard 2008; Moorooduce Estate The Moorooduc 2009 and 2008; Ten Minutes By Tractor McCutcheon Vineyard 2008; Foxeys Hangout 2007; Eldridge Estate 2007; Chehalem Ridgecrest Oregon 2008; Main Ridge Half Acre 2004 and 2009; from Burgundy, Domaine de Montille Volnay Taillepieds 2002 and 2007; Domaine Serafin Charmes-Chambertin 2007. But most definitely not the 2004 Faiveley Latricieres-Chambertin.

2009 Foggy Hill Vineyard Pinot Noir - 95 points

Source: 
Gourmet Traveller Wine
Review Date: 
3rd of February 2011

Brian Croser has nailed pinot noir in record time with his new Fleurieu vineyard. Cherry to plum aromas, with subtle background oak. The tannins provide backbone and authority, and good persistence. A pinot of richness and gravitas. 

2009 Foggy Hill Vineyard Pinot Noir - 8.9/10

Author: 
Max Crus
Source: 
Daily Advertiser
Review Date: 
18th of January 2011

2009 is young for a flash pinot but what's a man to do? We're not camels. Young but you can see the makings ... if only we had another bottle. 8.9/10

Indulge yourself - 2009 Foggy Hill Vineyard Pinot Noir 2009 - 5 stars

Author: 
Ralph Kyte-Powell
Source: 
The Age - Epicurean
Review Date: 
11th of January 2011

Made by the Australian-French Tapanappa partnership, this wine from South Australia's Fleurieu Peninsula sums up pinot noir's sappy mystery well. Aromas of flowers, dark-cherry jam, forest earth and seamlessly integrated spicy oak lead through a satiny, medium-bodied mouthful with a long, aromatic finish.

Ageing? Drink over four years.

Food ideas Prosciutto-wrapped quail; mild soft cheeses.

5 Stars a superb example, a near perfect wine of great character, worthy of the big occasion and the best company.

2009 Foggy Hill Vineyard Pinot Noir - 17.7 points

Author: 
Andrew Graham
Source: 
www.ozwinereview.com
Review Date: 
29th of November 2010

I've had this open for a day and a half now and only now is it looking at it's best. In fact, yesterday afternoon when I first opened the bottle I was left thinking 'what did I see in this last time'. What a difference a day makes...

For today it looks bright, vibrant and serious, glowing ruby red in the glass and smelling backward. That's much of the problem with this wine - beyond the redcurrant it's actually quite sullen and herbal, restrained and just a bit warm. It tastes very much like a work in progress actually, with a palate that is bound up in acidity and soapy stem tannins. It's this structure though that is ultimately one of the best things about the wine, a hint of glory that reminds just how serious a Pinot this is.

In the wash it's unquestionably a smart wine, if not the most obvious beast at the moment. 17.7/92+

Pages